Hi!! My name is Kamisha (Misha for short), I’m 38 years old, married to the love of my life Wesley for 10 years and we have 3 beautiful children together (Jayden 18, Wesley 14, and Peyton 12).

I was born in a small town in Georgia, but my family moved to Austin when I was 3 years old, so I guess you can say I’m an Austinite.

My family currently lives in Southwest Austin. I hold an AA in Health Administration and BA in Business; I currently work from home in the medical field.

November of 2019 my husband and I decided to start a nonprofit in honor of our 12-year-old daughter Peyton. We started Peyton’s Allergy Shield of Hope (PASH) to help advocate and educate for those who are living with food allergies.

This is a passion for my husband and I because we almost lost our daughter due to her food allergies.  I wouldn’t wish for anyone to experience possibly losing a child, your other kids being witness to this, and your helpless because you don’t know what to do.

After Peyton recovered from her anaphylactic reaction, this meant that my husband and I had to play catch up and educate ourselves on everything food allergies and anaphylaxis.   Our lives forever changed as we knew it.

This is the reason we chose to start our nonprofit in honor of our daughter Peyton.

I’m Mama/Mom everyday 247 365 days a year, but I also had to learn to advocate for my daughter.

I had to learn to be that watchful eye,  and make sure that what she ate was safe and wouldn’t possibly kill her.  I had to learn to stand up and fight for equality for her at school, I had to make sure the same quality of education everyone else received, she would too.

If I have go out into the community and advocate, and educate others about the seriousness of food allergies then this is the path that my God designed for me to walk.

If I can help other parents not experience what my family went through, then I will fight that fight.   

My life is very fast pace and busy! There are 7 days out of the week, 4 out of the 7 my family is running back and forth from either a football game, basketball game, swim practice, or tumbling. I wouldn’t change this for the world. I believe my greatest accomplishment is being a mother to my three children.

I love being their mother, I may get tired of being in the car on a 8-hours car ride to visit a college, or when they call me because they forgot their basketball uniforms at home on their beds. But at the end of the day I’m most proud of them, my oldest Jayden will be attending Texas Tech in the fall to continue his education and as a member of the football team, while I learn to adjust to being a mom of a 7th grader and a Sophomore in high school.

I am also an avid reader; suspense are my favorite books. I like to listen to audible, but I tend to fall asleep on them…lol. In my spare time I love to blog about my family, raising our 3 children, and navigating my daughter’s food allergies at www.foodallergyjourney.com.





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here